D. Diogo de Sousa Museum | Braga Cool
Login | Register


D. Diogo de Sousa Museum

The Museum of Art and Archeology History

The D. Diogo de Sousa Museum, created in 1918 and named after the man who was the archbishop of Braga between 1505 and 1532, is a reference in the area of Archeology.

Its visit begins with a brief introduction to the Museum’s history, followed by four rooms which chronologically divide the pieces exhibited. Here we travel in time without realizing how quickly the hours fly by, and for those who are particularly fond of history, this is definitely a must-see. We recommend the guided tour for an even more special experience.

The Museum's archives include archeology collections from Portugal’s entire northern region and reveal Bracara Augusta’s history, from the Paleolithic to the Medieval period. Among the pieces of pottery, jewelry, carefully recovered utensils, coins from the High Empire and even a Roman mosaic, the Museum has what is considered "Europe’s best collection of milliaries" (visible in the last room of the exhibition, and collected by Dom Diogo de Sousa himself) and presents the lives of our ancestors through models that illustrate daily life in the city.

In addition, the Museum has a restoration laboratory and specialized technical services. It is not open to the public, but it has been responsible for the preservation of local and regional archaeological heritage.

Cool Tip: Throughout the year, many activities are held in the Museum. Keep an eye on the agenda because there are great programs for all ages.


Tues-Sun: 10:00 AM – 5:30 PM
Closed: January 1st, Easter Sunday, May 1st and December 25th.